• India
  • Contact Us: 040 68334455
  • Mon - Sat:   9.00am - 04.00pm

Alzheimer’s Disease

    What is Alzheimer’s Disease?

    Alzheimer’s disease is an irreversible, progressive brain disorder that slowly destroys memory and thinking skills, and eventually the ability to carry out the simplest tasks. In most people with Alzheimer’s, symptoms first appear in their mid-60s.

    What is the cause of Alzheimer’s disease?

    Like all types of dementia, Alzheimer’s is caused by brain cell death. It is a neurodegenerative disease, which means there is progressive brain cell death that happens over a course of time. The total brain size shrinks with Alzheimer’s– the tissue has progressively fewer nerve cells and connections.

    Is there a cure for Alzheimer’s disease?

    Currently, there is no cure for Alzheimer’s. But drug and non-drug treatments may help with both cognitive and behavioral symptoms. Researchers are looking for new treatments to alter the course of the disease and improve the quality of life for people with dementia.

    7 Stages of Alzheimer’s Disease:

    Get Instant Doctor Online Consultation

    Stage 1: No Impairment

    During this stage, Alzheimer’s disease is not detectable and no memory problems or other symptoms of dementia are evident.

    Stage 2: Very Mild Decline

    The senior may notice minor memory problems or lose things around the house, although not to the point where the memory loss can easily be distinguished from normal age related memory loss. The person will still do well on memory tests and the disease is unlikely to be detected by physicians or loved ones.

    Stage 3: Mild Decline

    At this stage, the friends and family members of the senior may begin to notice memory and cognitive problems. Performance on memory and cognitive tests are affected and physicians will be able to detect impaired cognitive function.

    Patients in stage 3 will have difficulty in many areas including:

    • Finding the right word during conversations
    • Remembering names of new acquaintances
    • Planning and organizing

    People with stage three Alzheimer’s may also frequently lose personal possessions, including

    Stage 4: Moderate Decline

    In stage four of Alzheimer’s disease clear cut symptoms of Alzheimer’s disease are apparent. Patients with stage four Alzheimer’s disease:

    • Have difficulty with simple arithmetic
    • May forget details about their life histories
    • Have poor short term memory (may not recall what they ate for breakfast, for example)
    • Inability to manage finance and pay bills

    Stage 5: Moderately Severe Decline

    During the fifth stage of Alzheimer’s, patients begin to need help with many day to day activities. People in stage five of the disease may experience:

      • Significant confusion
      • Inability to recall simple details about themselves such as their own phone number
      • Difficulty dressing appropriately

    On the other hand, patients in stage five maintain a modicum of functionality. They typically can still bathe and toilet independently. They also usually still know their family members and some detail about their personal histories, especially their childhood and youth.

    Stage 6: Severe Decline

    Patients with the sixth stage of Alzheimer’s disease need constant supervision and frequently require professional care. Symptoms include:

        • Confusion or unawareness of environment and surroundings
        • Major personality changes and potential behavior problems
        • The need for assistance with activities of daily living such as toileting and bathing
        • Inability to recognize faces except closest friends and relatives
        • Inability to remember most details of personal history
        • Loss of bowel and bladder control
        • Wandering

    Stages 7: Very Severe Decline

    Stage seven is the final stage of Alzheimer’s disease. Because Alzheimer’s disease is a terminal illness, patients in stage seven are nearing death. In stage seven of the disease, patients lose ability to respond to their environment or communicate. While they may still be able to utter words and phrases, they have no insight into their condition and need assistance with all activities of daily living. In the final stages of the illness, patients may lose their ability to swallow.